top of page

Second Prize...


Dark fantasy, horror, ghosts, Blog, Short stories.

SECOND PRIZE in WRITER'S FORUM competition.

WOW! I think I might be heading in the right direction. Recently my son told me that I inspired him. Awww. I know, right. And he told me that just before I showed him my short story published in Writer's Forum. Made me well up that did. He nags me to write when I haven't written in a while. He is so positive towards my writing. I know I owe it to him to succeed at what I am doing. I'm doing this to make a better life for my family.

The summer holidays have ended. Yippee. It's been exhausting. Demoralising. Our Son informed us after two weeks of a six week holiday that he was ready to go back to school. Bless. That meant another four weeks of pain, anguish and tantrums. Luckily his Nan and Granddad took him to a holiday park for one of those weeks but still...

During that week, his mother and I, helped by a lot of friends, managed to build him a treehouse. It was something he wanted and I had no qualms in building it for him although his mother was surprised at how high up the tree it was. A treehouse is not a treehouse unless it is in the tree. Well, that was the argument I used. I think she was won over. Sam was overwhelmed with it and there were hugs all round. Nice one!

I however have not managed to get any writing done. Not a jot. With the new term that means Tothill Scribblers, the writing group of which I am a member, will be starting again. Things will be able to return to resemblance of normality.

I can concentrate once more on being a full time carer for my wife. After taking him to school, I can come home, make drinks, and check if my wife needs anything before finally sitting down in front of the computer to write strange and unfathomable stories. Or a blog depending on how the creative juices are flowing. If indeed they are.

It will take a while but I need to stretch the brain, give it a little warm-up. That is what this blog is about. Stretching the creative muscles. Looking for things lurking in the shadows. Weird things. Strange.

I have a few ideas.

One such story was inspired in the building of the treehouse. It is a dark tale involving gardens of weeds, creeping tendrils, and God.

I've started work already. One day I'll be ready to attempt a novel but for now, it's the short story for me. Now, following on from my above success, I need to sell some stories to magazines. Exciting times lay ahead. Let's see what strange, dark and terrible things come this way.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page